49


so, today is my birthday.
i am 49
that means that next year i will be 50
50
FIFTY. YEARS. OLD.
my parents did not live long enough to see me turn 50.
both died of lung cancer.
my dad was 70 when he died
my mom was 71
dad started smoking at 12, i think.
mom did stop smoking when i was young, but she lived with a smoker her whole adult life.
mom had me in her 20s.
she should have seen me turn 50.
damn.

my hope and prayer is that i live to see my children turn 50.
who knows? it could happen.
i will be 92 when the Woman-cub turns 50.
so. yeah.
fifty

One thought on “49

Leave a Reply

