living with compassion


The last few days have been spent in prayer and reading.
The kind thing I did. Was to give money (6 bucks that’s all I had) to a homeless pregnant youth.
I told her that I hoped things would get better.
I love giving money to people. I love giving coats or blankets or food.
It reminds me of this Scripture:
1 John 3:17 But if someone who is supposed to be a Christian has money enough to live well, and sees a brother in need, and won’t help him–how can God’s love be within him ?
1 John 3:18 Little children, let us stop just saying we love people; let us really love them, and show it by our actions. 1 John 3:19 Then we will know for sure, by our actions, that we are on God’s side, and our consciences will be clear, even when we stand before the Lord.
Prov. 14:31 Anyone who oppresses the poor is insulting God who made them. To help the poor is to honor God.
Prov. 21:13 He who shuts his ears to the cries of the poor will be ignored in his own time of need
1 Tim. 6:17-19 Tell those who are rich not to be proud and not to trust in their money, which will soon be gone, but their pride and trust should be in the living God who always richly gives us all we need for our enjoyment. 18 Tell them to use their money to do good. They should be rich in good works and should give happily to those in need, always being ready to share with others whatever God has given them. 19 By doing this they will be storing up real treasure for themselves in heaven–it is the only safe investment for eternity! And they will be living a fruitful Christian life down here as well.

My favorite:

James 2:14 Dear brothers, what’s the use of saying that you have faith and are Christians if you aren’t proving it by helping others? Will that kind of faith save anyone? 15 If you have a friend who is in need of food and clothing, 16 and you say to him, “Well, good-bye and God bless you; stay warm and eat hearty,” and then don’t give him clothes or food, what good does that do? 17 So you see, it isn’t enough just to have faith. You must also do good to prove that you have it. Faith that doesn’t show itself by good works is no faith at all–it is dead and useless. 18 But someone may well argue, “You say the way to God is by faith alone, plus nothing; well, I say that good works are important too, for without good works you can’t prove whether you have faith or not; but anyone can see that I have faith by the way I act.” 19 Are there still some among you who hold that “only believing” is enough? Believing in one God? Well, remember that the demons believe this too–so strongly that they tremble in terror! 20 Fool! When will you ever learn that “believing” is useless without doing what God wants you to? Faith that does not result in good deeds is not real faith.

This is the scripture that has me most always giving a dollar or more, if I have it, to some one in need. You just never know, it could be an angle or Christ himself:

Mat. 25:34-38 “Then I, the King, shall say to those at my right, ‘Come, blessed of my Father, into the Kingdom prepared for you from the founding of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you fed me; I was thirsty and you gave me water; I was a stranger and you invited me into your homes; 38 naked and you clothed me; sick and in prison, and you visited me.’ 37 “Then these righteous ones will reply, ‘Sir, when did we ever see you hungry and feed you? Or thirsty and give you anything to drink? 38 Or a stranger, and help you? Or naked, and clothe you?

Mat.25:39-46 When did we ever see you sick or in prison, and visit you?’ 40 “And I, the King will tell them, ‘When you did it to these my brothers you were doing it to me!’ 41 Then I will turn to those on my left and say, ‘Away with you, you cursed ones, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his demons. 42 For I was hungry and you wouldn’t feed me; thirsty, and you wouldn’t give me anything to drink; 43 a stranger, and you refused me hospitality; naked, and you wouldn’t clothe me; sick, and in prison, and you didn’t visit me.’ 44
“Then they will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison,
and not help you?’ 45 “And I will answer, ‘When you refused to help the least of these my brothers, you were refusing help to me.’ 46 “And they shall go away into eternal punishment; but the righteous into everlasting life.”

There is more but you get the idea. And I never ever say “G*d Bless you”, unless they say it to me.
I say, “i really hope things get better for you”
It is a part of my DAILY spiritual practice.
Of my everyday walk with the divine.

Sometimes, G*d whispers to me to NOT give.
(G*d whispers,it is kind and soft and loving, never shaming. the mean ugly voice screams and yell and are always scary)
And then I do not.
I do, for every one I give to or need to walk by, pray for them.
funny thought that the “other” voice sounds like my mother.
Someone once said: “be careful how you speak to your children. It becomes their inner voice.”
Truer word have never been spoken

One thought on “living with compassion

Leave a Reply

