Leafing…..again


“It is leafing Mommy! Look! ” she said from the
back seat as we drove down the
road to The Maple Grove
“What?” I asked…
“look!, it is leafing” she said again
and ya know what?
It was!
Leaves of red and orange
and purple and pink
and blue and gold.
Floating down on us
waving back and forth
like the Pendulum on a Grandfather clock.
a rusty, orangy, yellowy reddish goldy one
umber, I think it was
Lands on my windshield, as we park at her pre-school.
I have always wanted to know what umber is, now I know.
I think.
It really does not matter.
Because It was LEAFING!
These leaves once
green, wick life
giving shade from the hot sun.
Are now dead, making room for more growth in the spring.
falling on us like the rain.
I love this time of year
more so now that I really have seen the autumn colors
and felt the cold crisp mornings and warm afternoons
it is nice.
Leafing.

Leave a Reply

