i hate cancer


A friend of mine was diagnosed with prostate cancer this week.

He is a good man who has a little over 2 and half years sobriety.

So far his sponsor and I are the only ones who know.

I am so touched that he told me.

I cried on his shoulder.

He comforted me

Dudes… HE GAVE ME COMFORT

AS I CRIED
ON HIS SHOULDER.

Some INTERNET info:

Other than skin cancer, prostate cancer is the most common cancer in American men. The latest American Cancer Society estimates for prostate cancer in the United States are for 2010:
About 217, 730 new cases of prostate cancer will be diagnosed
About 32,050 men will die of prostate cancer
About 1 man in 6 will be diagnosed with prostate cancer during his lifetime. More than 2 million men in the United States who have been diagnosed with prostate cancer at some point are still alive today..

He has such a good attitude:

“G*d knows erika, he knows what is going to happen”
“G*d in control, erika, he will take care of me”

Me?

I. AM. PISSED.

Cancer has touched everyone I know…
I do not know anyone who does not know someone who has had
or who has cancer.

These are the people whom I have known who died of cancer:

My dad
My grandpa
My g*d father
My uncle
My friend jim
A girl from my 3rd grade class died of cancer. I forget her name
My friend bob, I sat at his bedside when he died
of cancer

I sat by the bedside of a friends mom when she died
of cancer

Several people from school and from church
have died of cancer
Think about it…do you know anyone who has not been touched by cancer?

Anyone?

I even know a child who has cancer

He is ok right now, doing great actually

But I still hate it

I saw a bumper sticker one day’

“F**K CANCER”.

I thought that was great..

I also like:

“SAVE THE TA TAS”

Guess how much the US has spent on the war in Iraq and Afghanistan?

Guess….

OK I will tell you:

$1.05 trillion dollars

ONE. POINT. ZERO. FIVE. TRLLION. DOLLARS

$1, 500, 000, 000, 000.

that is a lot a zeros folks.

That money would be better spent on

Education

Heath care ( another post entirely)

and

The war on cancer..

A prayer:

Spirit of life, Holy One, Divine Love known by many names
and no name, one who is not bound by gender or form
G*d.

I pray for my friend.

You know his going out and his coming in.
You know every hair on his head!!!

He has cancer.

But you know that.

I ask that you continue to grant him peace.

I ask that you give him wisdom as he
journeys through this maze that is cancer.

Bring in to his path Great Doctors.

Bring in to his path great friends.

Who will be your arms during this time…

and

I ask

Dare I ask?

For a miracle.

You can and you do perform miracles.

And Holy One,

As he feels led, bring into his life
people who can support him
and love him through this.

May It Be So
May It Be So

6 thoughts on “i hate cancer

  1. VIa facebook, I have reconnected with a high school friend and also one of her sisters. Their third sister died of colon cancer on July 3. She was only 54. She has a sixteen year old daughter : (

    Like

  2. Last March (on my birthday), my mom was suddenly diagnosed with stage 4 cancer of unknown primary (one of the worst cancer diag. to have) and given a few months to live. She opted out of chemo and instead started doing the primal diet (Primal Body Primal Mind by Nora Gedgaudas – a must-read!!) plus lots of cancer-fighting supps plus meditations and prayers. Now this is 4 months later and she has no ill symptoms, her tumor cell count went way down (which indicates that her cancer is probably disappearing!!) and she hikes 5-14 miles per day with tons of energy!! Just wanted to post something uplifting. Love and prayers to all who are fighting cancer and to their loved ones…

    Like

  3. when daddy found out he had cancer my mom looked all over for compatible treatments to go along with chemo. one was human breast milk. we joke that it was too bad i was not nursing anymore…coin was 5. i am going to get that book for my friend thank danielle!

    Like

  4. My husband's mom died of colon cancer when he was a kid. Sad. And my dad died from lung cancer, also when I was a kid. He pretty much smoked himself to death.

    Like

Leave a Reply

